The Brisbane Roar Football Club

On 2 March, 2005, then-named Queensland Roar FC was incorporated as a partnership.

As one of eight teams in the inaugural Hyundai A-League season, the club played its first ever match against the New Zealand Knights at Suncorp Stadium on 28 August, 2005, winning 2-0.

Following the introduction of two new Queensland teams in 2009, the club changed its name to Brisbane Roar FC. All home matches continue to be played at Suncorp Stadium, Queensland’s world-class stadium.

The cauldron-like design and proximity to the playing field ensures football fans will have the best view and atmosphere not ever experienced at a sporting event in Queensland before.

Squad training is conducted at Logan Metro Sports precinct, with the club’s administration based at 349-359 Browns Plains Rd, Heritage Park.

Brisbane Roar has played a key part in lifting the standard of the Hyundai A-League with an attractive, mobile brand of football that has become synonymous with the club, bringing Brisbane Roar a host of achievements. This all began when current Socceroos Coach Ange Postecoglou first joined the club.

The Roar celebrated the end of their successful 2010/11 season – in which they lost just once and finished eight points clear at the top of the competition ladder to claim the Premier’s Plate – by producing one of Australia’s greatest ever sporting comebacks in the 2011 Hyundai A-League Grand Final.

After the scores were locked at 0-0 following 90 minutes against Central Coast Mariners on March 13, 2011, the match progressed to extra time. Brisbane conceded twice in quick succession and were facing a 2-0 defeat with just 17 minutes remaining on the clock.

But the players refused to give up and after clawing back one goal in the 116th minute, the Roar equalised with the final play of the game to force a penalty shootout which they eventually won 4-2.

Off-field, the club received a huge boost in October 2011, with Indonesian conglomerate the Bakrie Group purchasing a 70 per cent stake in the club, via the company’s sporting arm Pelita Jaya Cronus. This made the Bakrie Group the first foreign investors to hold a majority share in an Hyundai A-League club.

In February 2012, the Bakrie Group increased their ownership and now holds the full 100 per cent stake in the club. The purchase has been hailed as the first step in the globalisation of the competition and the club is proud to be at the forefront of the competition’s growing stature within Asia.

The on-field success continued for Brisbane Roar in the 2011/12 season with the club creating Australian sporting history by breaking a 74-year old national record for the most consecutive matches undefeated by playing 36 Hyundai A-League fixtures without a loss.

The club also participated in the AFC Champions League, Asia’s premier competition, for the first time in early 2012 – competing against some of the region’s best teams in the group stage.

On April 22, 2012, Brisbane Roar became the first Hyundai A-League team to successfully defend their Championship by again displaying their ‘never-say-die’ attitude and scoring two late goals to defeat Perth Glory 2-1 at Suncorp Stadium.

In the Hyundai A-League 2013/14 season, Head Coach Mike Mulvey guided Brisbane Roar to the Premier’s Plate (winning the league by 10 points) before the club secured a historic third Grand Final win on 4 May against Western Sydney Wanderers.

In November 2014, the club appointed former Dutch international Frans Thijssen as Interim Head Coach. He led the team for 27 games across all competitions for 11 wins and five draws – including the club’s first two victories in the AFC Champions League and a place in the Hyundai A-League Elimination Final.

On 26 May, 2015, former Socceroo, John Aloisi was appointed Head Coach. During his first season he led the Roar  to an encouraging third place on the ladder, narrowly missing out on the championship in the last game of the season and finishing only one point behind eventual champions Adelaide.

The 2015/16 performance was sufficient for the Roar to enter qualificiation for the 2017 Asian Champions League. After defeating Global F.C. and Shanghai Greenland Shenhua F.C. in 2017, Brisbane qualified for the ACL for the fourth time in their history.

The 2016/17 season was full of grit and excitement with the team finishing a respectable, albeit still disappointing third place. They were knocked out of the final series by Melbourne Victory. It was also the year of our first ever Hall of Fame Inductee, a fitting tribute to true club legend #22 Thomas Broich.

The 2017/18 season was different in the challenges presented to Head Coach John Aloisi and the talented Roar line-up. Injuries, a slow start to the season and highly competitive competition  made 2017/18 a year where our determination shone through. The team finished sixth overall in the Hyundai A-League competition. 

The Roar would qualify for an eighth straight Hyundai A-League finals appearance in 2018, but it was the Roar Women who secured the only piece of silverware for the season.

They secured the Roar’s third Premiers Plate before exiting the finals in the first round 2-0 against Melbourne City.

Mel Andreatta’s side would again earn a home semi-final during the 2018/19 season, finishing second behind the Victory, but suffered a similar defeat, this time at the hands of Sydney FC at Dolphin Stadium.


Administration & Management

Chairman – Rahim Soekasah
Director – Helmi Rahman
Managing Director – David Pourre
Football Director – Shane Stefanutto
Events & Operations Manager – Nick Shirlaw
Events & Operations Coordinator – Jess Dillon
International Relations – Rizka Laya
Accounts & Finance Assistant – Novita Dumais
Membership & Ticketing Manager – Josh Springfield
Head of Commercial – Corey Mouttou
Commercial Partnerships Manager – Nancy Hsu
Marketing Manager – Jenna Johnstone
Head of Corporate Affairs & Media – Aaron Cooper
Digital Coordinator – Thibault Berthier
Community Football Manager – Andy Pinches
Community Football Team Leader – Dene Almond
Community Football Team Leader – Martin Wilkes
Sporting Schools Coordinator – Laura Bryant

Football Department

Head Coach – Darren Davies
Assistant Coach – Drew Sherman
Goalkeeping Coach – Jason Kearton
Football Manager – Mitchell Sciacca
Football Executive Assistant – Melissa Tunstall
Head of High Performance – Chris Mallac
Kit & Equipment Manager – Brody Sams
Assistant Physiotherapist – Alex Downie
Performance Analyst – Jason Wickham
Youth Team Head Coach – Jake Goodship
Youth Team Assistant Coach – Chris Grossman
Westfield W-League Head Coach – Mel Andreatta
Westfield W-League Assistant Coach – Garrath McPherson
Westfield W-League Team Manager – Stephanie McPherson
Academy Director – Marvin Wilkes

Club Achievements

2017/18: Westfield W-League Premiers
2013/14: Hyundai A-League Premiers
2013/14: Hyundai A-League Champions
2012/13: Westfield W-League Premiers
2011/12: Hyundai A-League Champions
2010/11: Hyundai A-League Champions
2010/11: Hyundai A-League Premiers
2010/11: Westfield W-League Champions
2008/09: Westfield W-League Champions
2008/09: Westfield W-League Premiers

Official Hyundai A-league partners